Introduction

Obra das Mães is a non-profit organization with a long history and distinctive merit in charity and social welfare in Macao. The name of the organization comes from the Portuguese phrase “Mother’s Work”. Obra das Mães was founded in 1959 by the wife of the then-governor, the Macanese and Chinese communities. Although coming from diversed social sectors with different nationalities and religious beliefs, members bear the spirit of carrying forward to a range of charitable activities. This unique identity gives Obra das Mães its Portuguese and Chinese characteristics. Members, on behalf of the “spirit of maternal love", work to help mothers and defend the rights and interests of women in Macao, as well as to promote activities related to various areas of charity and social welfare. The organization’s mission is to promote activities related to family education, to improve the quality of life in families, to give help to mothers, to defend the rights and interests of women and to promote the harmonious development of society. During the past fifty years, Obra das Mães has refined its services and developed more activities to promote charitable work. In the past few years, Obra das Mães has worked exclusively for women, children and the elderly. The organization’s work has been recognized by entities across a variety of sectors in Macao.

Obra das Mães currently runs seven institutions dedicated to children’s education and elderly care: four "Creches São João" (in Horta Costa and NAPE and Taipa and UM) for children care, the "Lar dos Idosos" and the "Lar de Cuidados Especiais" homes for elderly care and the "Centro de Convívio"  - Day Centre, for senior citizens. Obra das Mães has maintained its concern for development of women in society, healthy growth of children and services provided to the elderly. Providing monthly subsidies to families and individuals in need, has been an important programme of Obra das Mães. Among those who are in great need, the organization highlights the elderly on their own and single parents.

With the support of the Macao SAR Government and entities from across different sectors of society, Obra das Mães continues to improve services and develop activities to promote social welfare, supporting the needy. Awarded with the Medal of Philanthropic Merit in 1989, Obra das Mães was again awarded the Medal of Merit in 2007 by the government for activities in the areas of charity and social welfare. These two medals confirm not only the appreciation of the organization’s work by the community, but it also serves as a great encouragement for the work of Obra das Mães in the future.

Obra das Mães continues to improve the quality of services and promotes a growing number of charitable and social welfare activities. In order to follow the various phases of modernization and development of the community. Based on many years of experience, members work together in an active and responsible manner, keeping in mind the guiding mission of the organization. The continuous progress of the community defines new challenges for work in the areas of charity and social welfare and Obra das Mães continues to work closely in accordance with the various measures of the government and promote the participation of members in social welfare activities with the aim of helping increasing numbers of families and individuals in need. Obra das Mães seeks to improve the quality of their work regarding the well-being of women in Macao, as well as charity and social welfare, so as to meet the ever-changing needs in the community.

Mission

To promote activities related to family education, improve the quality of family life, give assistance to mothers, defend the rights and interests of women and promote the harmonious development of the community.

母親會 (Obra das Mães),以葡萄牙語「母親的工作」翻譯而命名的非牟利慈善社團,有著悠久歷史和良好聲譽,1959年於澳門成立,由當時的澳督夫人、澳門土生葡人及華人組成,會員來自不同國籍,不同界別,不同信仰的婦女,令母親會具葡國特色之餘也揉合了東方文化,是中西共融的組合,大家本著母愛精神,為澳門婦女和社會慈善工作凝聚一起,宗旨為推動家庭教育活動,提高家庭生活質量,協助母親,維護婦女權益,促進社會和諧發展。五十多年來,一直致力推動澳門婦女和社會慈善事業,為幼兒及長者服務做了大量工作,並得到社會各界的大力支持。

母親會屬下現設有七個服務機構,聖約翰托兒所 (高士德、新口岸、氹仔及澳大校區)、母親會安老院、母親會護理安老院及母親會頤康中心,開展幼兒托管照顧、長者專業照護和長者文娛康體活動。一直以來,母親會十分關心婦女的發展、兒童的健康成長和長者服務,特別是對經濟困難的獨居長者、單親家庭的婦女和兒童給予更多的關愛和援助,對需要施以援手的人士,每月定期發放定額援助金以緩減他們的生活壓力,使他們得到更多來自社會的關懷和相應的經濟上的幫助。

在政府、社會各界友好及熱心人士的關心和大力支持下,母親會的會務工作隨著時代發展,不斷進步,工作範圍不斷拓展,繼1989年獲得 “慈善功績勳章”之外,2007年亦獲澳門特區政府頒授 “仁愛功績勳章”。這既是對母親會工作的肯定和認同,亦包含著對今後工作的殷切期望。

今天的母親會,繼續秉承宗旨,在過去服務的基礎上,致力提昇服務質素,提高管理水平。隨著時代的發展和進步,對社會服務質量以及社會服務體系的完善亦提出了新的要求,母親會將一如既往地積極配合澳門特區政府的各項施政,團結廣大會員,參與各類活動,凝聚服務社會的力量,幫助更多貧困家庭、弱勢人士,並繼續拓展慈善福利工作,以滿足社會服務的需求,與時俱進,力求提供更佳之社會服務,為婦女及社會慈善事業的發展,為創建優質社會,促進社會和諧發展而努力。

服務宗旨

推動家庭教育活動,提高家庭生活質量,協助母親,維護婦女權益,促進社會和諧發展。